Start Planning Now: A Total Supermoon Lunar Eclipse is Coming on May 15-16, 2022

Time to start planning: a total supermoon lunar eclipse is coming on May 15-16, 2022 and, barring clouds, will be visible to a significant population, including most of the USA.

From EarthSky.org:

People in the Americas, Europe and Africa will see the total lunar eclipse during the night of May 15-16, 2022. Plus, on this night, the moon is close: a supermoon.

Penumbral eclipse begins at 1:32 UTC on May 16 (9:32 p.m. EDT on May 15).

Partial eclipse begins at 2:27 UTC on May 16 (10:27 p.m. EDT on May 15).

Totality begins (moon engulfed in Earth’s shadow) begins at 3:29 UTC on May 16 (11:29 p.m. EDT on May 15).

Totality ends at 4:53 UTC on May 16 (12:53 a.m. EDT).

Partial eclipse ends at 5:55 UTC on May 16 (1:55 a.m. EDT).

Penumbral eclipse ends at 6:50 UTC on May 16 (2:50 a.m. EDT).

Maximum eclipse is at 4:12 UTC on May 16 (12:12 a.m. EDT).

Duration of totality: About 85 minutes.

Note: This total eclipse is central. That means the moon passes centrally through the axis of Earth’s dark (umbral) shadow. The moon is in a near part of its orbit – close to Earth – during the eclipse. It’s a supermoon.

Because they are so deep, such eclipses typically have the longest total phases. In this case, the duration of totality lasts almost an hour and a half: 84.9 minutes!

Get the complete lunar eclipse details at EarthSky.org

Plan to participate in this event. Order your long telephoto lens now from B&H to ensure the ability to capture the lunar details in high resolution. You might want to also pick up a tracking mount.

Here is the story behind the Super Wolf Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse 2019 Progression Composite Image.

Use your favorite night sky app (such as Photo Ephemeris) to determine moon's elevation. You need to ensure that the shooting location does not have obstructions that will not block the view during the shooting period.

Many of us will find the moon high in the sky when the eclipse begins and will be shooting nearly straight up during totality. The How to Shoot Upward with a Large Lens While Using a Gimbal Tripod Head article may be helpful.

Posted: 5/9/2022 1:47:15 PM CT   Posted By: Bryan
Posted to: Canon News, Sony News    Category: Camera Gear Review News
Share on Facebook! Share on Twitter! Share on Pinterest! Email this page to a friend!
comments powered by Disqus
Help  |  TOU  |  © 2022 Rectangular Media, LLC  |  Bryan CarnathanPowered by Christ!